(An Extra Credit Blog)A Lecture of “Charles Dickens: the Man Behind the Novels” by Lucinda Dickens Hawksley

I have recently watched a lecture of Lucinda Dickens Haksley who is a descendant of Charles Dickens in Fine Arts hall at 7p.m. on March 26, 2015. She came here to tell us about her book, “Charles Dickens,” written in observance of Dickens’ 200th birthday in 2012. Charles Dickens is a English writer who is regarded as the greatest novelist of the Victorian era, and his famous novels are Oliver Twist, A Christmas Carol, Great Expectations, and etc. When I was a little girl, I have only read Oliver Twist and Great Expectations. Even though I don’t remember what the story was about exactly, I remember that was great, and he is an great novelist. So, I got interested participating in Mrs. Hawksley’s lecture in Fine Arts Hall not only for extra credit but also to know information about Charles Dickens’ background story.

http://www.biography.com/people/charles-dickens-9274087#synopsis
the photo was taken by my i phone
the photo was taken by my i phone

When Mrs. Hawksley begins her story about her ancestor , “Charles Dickens,” everybody paid attention on her beautiful voice that has an English accent. The story starts with John Dickens who is a father of Charles Dickens. His father had no enough money to support his family, so he had to go to a prison. For his father’s imprisonment, Charles Dickens  had hard childhood life. Since he was young, he quit his school and started to work to help his family. Later, he could go back to a school and his father’s debts were paid off. However, he had to go to work again. Since this turning point of his life, his writing career started. he started to write reporting on newspaper and later then he started to write books. After that, he married with Catherine and they have 10 children later. There were more interesting information about himself ,his works, his children, and his death. It’s really long story and I really got into that story of Lucinda Dickens Hawksley. She made the story very interesting with some of image slides. Her lecture was about an hour, but I enjoyed her lecture. If there’s more similar lectures about famous novelists’, I would love to participate in again.

FullSizeRender (1)
the photo was taken by my phone

If you guys want to know more his biography, here is a link.  Also, here is Mrs. Lucinda’s website if you want to know what she wrote about. There are a lot of interesting information of her novels. Don’t miss it to check out. Moreover, I actually recorded her lecture by my phone. Although the sound makes echoing when she talks, I have it. If you are interested in, I can send it to your email. It’s about over one hour.  Words: 437

Leave a Reply

